For 48 hours straight, I took note of EVERY SINGLE advertisement, marketing push, branding post, or fundraising request I encountered on social media. These are the advertisements I saw:

1. Nordstrom Ad- “Best Dresses” Sidebar post on FB. Image and text. Clicked.

2. Baltimore Soundstage, “ON SALE NOW!”-FB suggested post. Image and text. Did not click                                                                                                                

3. bigdropnyc-Sidebar post on FB. Text and Image. Did not click

4. Gilt-FB sidebar. Image and Text. Didn’t click. Item i had previously looked at on the site

5. ShoeDazzle “Sale 50% off”-FB sidebar. Text and Image. Did not click

6. Nordstrom ad,”Shop Prom”-FB sidebar. Image and Text. Did not click

7. Macys, “Save Big Todday”-FB sidebar. Image and text. Did not click

8. gerberlife “grow-up plan””-FB sidebar. Did not click                                                                             

9. Sally Hansen, “Triple shine manicure”-Promoted ad on Twitter. Image and Text. Did not click    

10. Edible Arrangements- FB sidebar. Image and text. Did not click                                                    

11. Vimeo “Video looks best on Vimeo”-FB sidebar. Image and text. Did not click                             

12. Taglit-Birthright Israel, FB suggested post. Image and Text. Didn’t click                                    

13. Rebecca Minkoff- FB sidebar ad. Image and text. Did not click                                                        

14. Nokia  “Zoom and Enjoy”-FB sidebar. Image and Text. Did not click                                               

15. AT&T “Never be away from home”- FB sidebar. Image and Text. Did not click                                 

16. Starbucks “Double up on VIA”-FB sidebar. Image and Text. Did not click                                         

17. Popsugar “Save $10 with code BOX10”-FB sidebar ad. Image and text. Did not

click                                                                                                                        

18. GrubHub “Order delivery on GrubHub”-FB sidebar ad. Image and Text. Did not

click                                                                                                                            

19. Adobe “Adobe Creative Cloud”-FB sidebar ad. Image and Text. Did not click                               

20. Student Alienware Deal-FB sidebar ad. Image and text. Did not click                                            

21. HumanProgress.Org-FB sidebar. Image and text. Did not click                                                        

22. Semester at Sea, “Sail on SAS Summer 2014”- FB sidebar. Image and text. Did not click                                                                                                                    

23. Dell Student Discounts- FB sidebar. Image and text. Did not click 

24. 1800Flowers, “Save 15% Today”- FB sidebar. Image and text. Did not click

In these 48 hours, I used less social media than I normally due to an influx in quizzes and upcoming midterms. At the end of my 48 hours, I saw 24 advertisements. Overall I did not find any of them effective because I only clicked on one out of the 24 I encountered. I was surprised at the number of ads that popped up that I had no interest in and had never looked up online. I thought that everything that came up on my Facebook was something I showed interest in, but through this research I realized I was wrong. What shocked me was that each of the ads was presented in the very same way with an image and text which did not make any of them grab my attention. It was very cool to look at all of the marketing I encounter every day.

